Don’t Make the Same Mistake I Did: Choose the Right Domain Name for Your Website

(This post originally appeared on about.us)

So let’s state the obvious: the domain name of my company, which is www.marksgroup.net, is pretty boring. Obviously, I’ve ignored some of the rules.

Clearly, I didn’t pay enough attention to the online experts at the time. My company’s domain name sometimes gets confused with the same name of a totally different company using a .com extension (and no, I’m not going to buy up their extension – who’s got that kind of money?). I have no key words in the name (other than my last name). It’s not regionally or product focused. I’m not setting myself apart. It’s not very cool or catchy. And it says nothing about my company, except for maybe that there are a group of people working here who may or may not have the last name of Marks. Not helpful.

I could blame the lack of tools available back in the late ‘90’s when I selected this domain. People who are trying to come up with great domains today have the benefit of catchy sounding tools like BustAName (lets you put different words in random combinations in order to find the perfect name), Domize (which instantly not only checks if the domain is available but when it’s due to expire- the name is actually spelled with an upside down exclamation point but there’s no need for you to turn your monitor upside down while reading this) andDomain Puzzler (where you can figure out your domains using their “easy”, “advanced” and “magic” options, the “magic” option being available only to wizards who assisted Harry in defeating Voldemort during the battle of Hogwarts). There are plenty of others. I didn’t have those tools available back then. But let’s not make excuses. I probably wouldn’t have used them anyway.

And I’m still stuck with my boring old domain, www.marksgroup.net.

This is my mistake, but it doesn’t have to be yours. Now’s your chance to create your new online identity with a fresh, clean slate. And what better way to do it than with a .us address? Get started today and identify your business as American grown and owned.

Here’s a few tips to help ̶ from .US registrar, GoDaddy:

  • Make it easy to type
  • Keep it short
  • Use Keywords
  • Avoid Numbers and Hyphens
  • Be Memorable

And finally, act fast! Get a powerful, easily-recalled domain name associated with America’s small business community. By getting a.US you’re sending a message that you believe in the power of local business.

Why wait?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

